General News

Congratulations to Governor General Gold Medal Winner Rebecca Hall

photo of Rebecca HallOur warmest congratulations to Dr. Rebecca Hall, who has been awarded a prestigious Governor General’s Gold Medal. Dr. Hall recently completed her PhD in Political Science at York University, where she has specialized in the study of the the political economy of resource extraction, relations between Indigenous people and the Canadian state, decolonizing methodologies, and gender-based violence, particularly from a feminist political economy perspective. The most distinguished award for students in Canada, the Governor General’s Academic Medals have recognized outstanding scholastic achievement for more than 140 years.

Dr. Hall’s dissertation, “Diamonds are Forever: A Decolonizing, Feminist Approach to Diamond Mining in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories,” was co-winner of the Mary McEwan Memorial Award for the best dissertation in feminist studies. It examines the gendered impact of northern diamond mining, particularly on the lives and labours of Indigenous women living in the Yellowknife region. Her supervisor, Professor Leah F. Vosko, underscores the meaningful ways that Dr. Hall’s research engages with the community affected by mining to advance scholarly knowledge at the intersection of Indigenous Studies, Women and Politics, and Political Economy. On July 1, 2018, Dr. Hall takes up an appointment as Assistant Professor of Global Development Studies at Queen's University.

Dr. Hall's research is informed by her time spent working at The Native Women's Association of the Northwest Territories. Dr. Hall is thankful to workers at The Native Women’s Association of the Northwest Territories for hosting her doctoral research and, more widely, the communities in and near Yellowknife for their teachings and support. Dr. Hall’s academic publications analyse diverse (de)colonizing struggles related to resource extraction, caring labours, property relations, and interpersonal violence in contemporary Canada.

Alongside Professor Vosko, Dr. Hall's Supervisor, Professors Kamala Kempadoo and Frances Abele (Carleton) served as Supervisory Committee Members.

June 22, 2018